top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSydney Schmitt

Day 2-Research...All Day

The Plan

The plan for today is to research, research, research. I have tons to look up and so little time; at the time I'm writing this I have 12 hours and 18 minutes until I’ll be leaving for Paris. If I find that I am unable to get through all my research topics during school hours I will continue it throughout my flight and time at the airport...assuming I will be awake. I have a feeling that I may get into a slump with all this research so if that ends up being the case I will switch up what I’m doing and study some French as I wasn't able to do it yesterday.


What I Did

All-day all I did was research. Surprisingly there was only one point where I was a little brain dead and when this happened I watched a video regarding one of my research topics, Holistic Management, so even then it was productive. Today I was able to wrap up my research on Gabe Brown and his farming practices in addition to starting and finishing research on Holistic Management, tilling and cover crops. The research I did on Gabe Brown and holistic management were really similar and occasionally repetitive. Both made references to mob grazing (although they never used that term) and both heavily emphasized the importance of soil health and how everything is connected to it. With regards to tilling, I learned that it’s a bad method of agriculture whereupon the topsoil is churned resulting in a messed up microbes (which are essential to healthy soil). Additionally, I also learned that in turning up the soil, the carbon within the soil comes to the surface and turns into carbon dioxide, the greenhouse gas. All around it’s a bad thing and thus the holistic management movement emphasizes the idea of no-till practices.


Reflection

I felt like I accomplished quite a lot today, and unlike yesterday I found myself a lot more focused and able to block out distractions. In the end, however, I wasn't able to complete all the topics that Pascal, my host dad, gave me, and it wasn’t because of a lack of focus. Instead, I attribute it to how I went in-depth on every topic I researched, even going so far as to watch an hour-long video. It also should be noted that, like yesterday, I didn’t just look up what he told me to, instead veered off and looked up related terms that I wanted to know more about. In my opinion, I think that was the way to go because there’s no point in researching a bunch of topics and not really understanding any of them. Personally, I’d rather research a few topics but have a deep understanding. In an attempt to finish Pascals terms before the start of the workweek I plan on researching them over the weekend and finishing those before I go off on my own tangent.

8 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Day 14-Organizing Project Information

The Plan The whole plan for today is to organize my notes and figure out which pieces of information I will use. What I Did Today I did exactly what I set out to do, and organized all my notes. I ende

bottom of page